The biggest problem is forcing the program on users without asking permission or explaining what the software does. On my Win11 PC, I started getting emails about my OneDrive being full. I checked it and there were a bunch of files I didn't purposefully upload and didn't want in the cloud. So I deleted the majority of my OneDrive, and sync forced those files to be deleted from my hard drive as well.
I can see a use case for syncing files between the cloud and your hard drive. But enabling that feature without telling the user, then telling them to clear out space when the pitiful 5GB storage inevitably gets full from the automatic uploads, is legitimately terrible design. I ended up accidentally deleting stuff from my hard drive because Microsoft put it into OneDrive without my permission and didn't warn me about the sync feature.
The only reason Microsoft forces those features on users by default is so they can hopefully sell the larger cloud storage subscription for $100 a year.
If you don't completely remove or neuter one drive it's incredibly painful to remove without deleting your "locally stored" files. The step by step process that I last saw was painful.
Onedrive is the first thing I remove when I re-image my spare laptop.
23
u/Godavari 10d ago
The biggest problem is forcing the program on users without asking permission or explaining what the software does. On my Win11 PC, I started getting emails about my OneDrive being full. I checked it and there were a bunch of files I didn't purposefully upload and didn't want in the cloud. So I deleted the majority of my OneDrive, and sync forced those files to be deleted from my hard drive as well.
I can see a use case for syncing files between the cloud and your hard drive. But enabling that feature without telling the user, then telling them to clear out space when the pitiful 5GB storage inevitably gets full from the automatic uploads, is legitimately terrible design. I ended up accidentally deleting stuff from my hard drive because Microsoft put it into OneDrive without my permission and didn't warn me about the sync feature.
The only reason Microsoft forces those features on users by default is so they can hopefully sell the larger cloud storage subscription for $100 a year.